December 5, 2011

'Mo Moka, Please


The Italians know a thing or two about food and drink. They know their pastas, their cured meats and their wines. And the also know their coffees. Oh, how well they know their coffees.

When I lived in Italy my sophomore year, a cappuccino in the morning before class was a simple and often seriously needed pleasure which I came to love. Going to a local bar (coffee shop), I would order un cappuccino which would shortly arrive - intensely flavored, frothy, milky and piping hot. On a side note, the baristas in Italy are insanely fast. At my favorite bar, the barista could prepare four or five coffee drinks at once with the speed and precision of a mechanic on Adderall. 


Though I could only stop by the bar for un cappuccino before class from time to time, my need for intense Italian espresso was a constant.  In Italy it's not uncommon to drink five or six espressos a day, so my regular morning shot hardly seemed excessive. Luckily, the Italians have invented a genius way to bring espresso right into your home, no fancy-schmancy espresso machine required.
 
It's called a moka. It's a two-chamber stove-top coffee pot which brews fresh espresso in a matter of minutes. Just add water (and espresso grounds), and you have yourself a prefect espresso or latte or cappuccino or whatever you want. To use it, you put water in the bottom chamber, espresso grounds in a small container above that, and screw on the top chamber. When the water heats, pressure forces it up through the grounds and into the top chamber, where fresh espresso awaits. 


In Italy, everyone has one of these at home. For college students, I think they're a dream come true. At Wesleyan I've been using one for the past couple of years. They brew fantastic espresso, are fast and easy, and take up a lot less room than a coffee machine. There are even adorable mini-mokas which make single-serving shots. (They do require a stovetop, so you microwave-only dormers might have to sit this one out for the time being.) And these things are durable, ours is lovingly worn from many years in Damiano's family and still works like a star. Last, they're super fashionable (read: they will make you cool).  

In the winter, some moka-made espresso and warmed milk makes for the perfect morning latte. In the summer, it's delicious poured over ice with cold milk and sugar for a refreshing coffe drink. It's a simple way to make college feel a little more like a bustling Italian bar, which, I might add, is the right way to start your day wherever you are. 

14 comments:

  1. Selecting a dress through useful events leg techinques your lifestyle to some higher contact. Lengthy official attire can make this an excellent replica hermes handbags as well as occasion to exhibit individual character. Ladies can acquire an instantaneous marketing through falling right into a beautiful dress. Even though within 2011, the majority of ladies would rather put on brief replica hermes outlet continue to be favored through a few ladies. If you're her that has the high determine as well as are likely to go to the official occasion, an extravagance lengthy official put on is important. The important thing in order to showing up beautiful in the prom, generally, is about fake gucci bags to provide an extraordinary impact as well as becoming distinctive in the others. You are able to make a choice from a few best creative designers. Their own styles will give you a person most of elegance. You are able to select breitling replica sale. They are able to offer you the various sensation while you desire. Style arrives as well as will go each year as well as provides numerous great options associated with girl’s clothing for all of us. Regardless of, you're planning your own perfect replica breitling watches for the 2011 or even 2012 proms, there are lots of types of style designs that you could consider, listed here are the very best styles that you could want to consider.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Superior fashionable eyeglasses are usually polarized to lower any glare within the fake chanel sale sun energy highlighting out floors and walls similar to the roads, passenger cars, standard water or simply perfect. Polarized eyeglasses job by just barring up from the horizontal brightness reflections and only now let during vertical brightness reflections. Any polarization for fashionable eyeglasses produces him or her fake hermes sale cool during the areas for standard of living for example golfing, boating, biking, paddling, day fishing together with fake gucci sale aeroplanes zooming. Advertisers for fashionable eyeglasses objective young people what person utilize the same exact incredibly hot varieties together with brand-names fake prada sale mainly because your father and mother together with your idols. Eyeglasses meant for young people own Disney together with cartoon personalities in a good many designs, figures together with varieties. Baby's fashionable eyeglasses is usually polarized that will inhibit any unhealthy UV rays. Fashionable recommended eyeglasses will make improvements to idea, together with fake gucci sale greatly reduce eyestrain, like typical glasses or contact lenses.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Buy an accustomed artist label. It's important to accept a backpack from iconic designers like
    , Dior, Mulberry, or breitling replica. These designers are accepted the apple over and are accepted by men and women who adulation fashion. If you wish to defended a top ROI on your appearance investment, accomplish abiding you accept a appearance that endures division afterwards season, not something trendy. Pick aloof louis vuitton replica shades like atramentous or brown. These are best for versatility and longevity. Don't get the lemony chicken because there is no agreement that there will be appeal for that blush in the next few years. On the added hand, you can't go amiss with archetypal aloof shades. An investment bag is fabricated from continued abiding actual such as crocodile skin, ostrich or snake skin. Investment accoutrements are never fabricated from canvas or nylon.Below are some important affliction tips for your investment bag - behindhand of hermes replica whether you bought it alone for reselling purposes or if you can't abide and got it for yourself. Just remember, in adjustment to absolutely accomplish that top ROI on your investment bag that you alone intend to resell, do not abrasion it, ever! That affectionate of investment bag is like an investment in wine,obviously, you don't alcohol it. The aforementioned applies to replica watches an - you don't abrasion it.





    ReplyDelete
  4. Some 3 areas in this article are rather the most suitable we have all ever had.
    Guitar Courses For Beginners
    Classical Guitar Courses

    ReplyDelete
  5. I want to point out my affection for your kind-heartedness supporting folks who should have help on in this situation.
    SEO Tools
    SEO Tools For Competitor Analysis
    Moz killer SEO tool
    Competitive Research SEO Tools

    ReplyDelete
  6. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete