September 21, 2011

This (Turkey) Club Can't Handle Me Right Now

With ambition in my heart, hope in my eyes and bacon in my belly, I set out with a noble mission: to create the ultimate turkey club sandwich. Check out the video below to see what I come up with.



Recipe below.

Turkey Club Sandwich with Tomato Jam Mayonnaise
Makes 1 sandwich

For the mayonnaise:
-1 tablespoon olive oil
-1 small clove garlic, finely minced
-1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
-pinch of sugar
-salt and pepper
-1 egg yolk
-1 cup vegetable oil

For the sandwich:
-3 slices sandwich bread, toasted
-2 tablespoons mayonnaise (above)
-5-6 thin slices of turkey
-4 pieces of bacon, cooked
-1/2 avocado, sliced
-1/4 small red onion, sliced
-1/3 cup loose lettuce leaves
-6 slices cucumber

For the mayonnaise:

1. In a small saucepan, heat the olive oil on low heat.

2. Add the garlic, cherry tomatoes, sugar and salt and pepper. Allow to cook for 15-20 minutes until the tomatoes break down and begin to thicken to a jam-like consistency. Allow to cool.

3. Place the egg yolk in a medium mixing bowl and, whisking constantly, slowly add the oil at first drip by drip and then in a steady stream until the mayonnaise comes together. Depending on the size of the egg yolk, this may not be all the oil.

4. Add the tomato jam to the mayonnaise, season with salt and pepper, and stir well to combine.

For the sandwich:

1. Place a piece of bread on a cutting board and spread on one tablespoon of mayonnaise. Then add the turkey, cucumber and onion.

2. Top with another piece of bread and add the bacon, avocado, lettuce. Spread the mayo onto the third slice of bread and, mayonnaise side down, place on top of the sandwich.

3. Cut in half and serve at once, with toothpicks, chips and a glass of iced tea.

8 comments:

  1. william, you are ridiculous and this is beautiful.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I want to eat this now. My roommate and I just died laughing watching this

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi- I liked your video, pretty entertaining. BUT - what about the mayo? I try to stay away from raw eggs. Is there anyway of making mayo without a raw egg?

    ReplyDelete
  4. @Sarah - Thanks! Looks like this might be your solution: http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2009/07/egg-free-olive-oil-mayo.html

    ReplyDelete
  5. Olive Oil mayo. That is interesting. Ill have to try it. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Classic Sandwiches. Should there are a particular food stuff who everybody enjoys not to mention chanel replica bags spirit taking any time, her sandwiches. It is additionally one of the many most basic not to mention quickest foodstuffs to set. Examples of the methods can include: From specializing in strong servings in this case, it’s fantastic this is not to avoid who to train on a quantity of whole fiber bakery to generate sandwiches not to mention chanel replica bags. A second decision are actually strong tortillas to employ for the reason that wraps. Plants, Reds, not to mention Browns. Salads are actually necessarily the initial thing who goes to spirit whenever you find strong servings, here i list numerous strong salads. Plants: Being the designate signifies, you can actually stock up concerning a considerable amount of chanel replica handbags plants tend to be grocery shopping. Renewable leafy veg, and also cucumbers and then the applicable salad salad dressing commonly are not basically high quality, but more tremendously strong to take. Reds: Peas, bell peppers, beets not to mention acidic tomatoes. These are definitely more than sufficient that provides that you comforting supper. Put together in any bit salt, pepper, numerous olive oil not to mention a dash of balsamic vinegar not to mention you could be good to go. Browns: Sausages not to mention sprouts makes on a salubrious chanel replica bags while in no way take on numerous hours to create. Virtually all you must do might be stir fry typically the sausages on a tid bit not to mention garnish these products accompanied by a bit salad dressing not to mention bakery if you prefer. You should definitely various 'S', you can actually get a variety fake chanel, rinse out these products.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete