September 14, 2011

Summer's End Pasta


There's a time in early September, when the days get noticeably shorter and the nights noticeably cooler, when some people - like me - become a bit remorseful. It's not because the lingering days of summer mean back-to-school and the end of long days at the beach (not exactly "my thing").  It's summer's end, and that means the end of summer produce. It means tomatoes, so intensely colorful and full of flavor, will soon disappear from the crates at farmers markets. Basil starts to die from cold nights. Fresh peas are long gone. Corn has gone to seed. You get the idea.

Every perfect tomato I eat, I have to ask, will this one be this year's last?

I don't mean to be dramatic, but during the six or seven months of cold weather we get in New England, roughly October to April, root vegetables only stay exciting for so long. Brussels sprouts are great, but not every night. Butternut squash is no longer appealing by early March. It takes little time for me to start dreaming of the spring and summer when the farmers market will sell more than rutabaga and jarred jam.


Which is why, by summer's end, I try to eat up as much summer produce as I can. This pasta dish, with cherry tomatoes, eggplant, arugula and feta cheese, is my attempt to feature some of that produce before it's long gone.  In addition to the pasta, there are four main ingredients to this dish, each which I hope holds its own. The cherry tomatoes are roasted, which turns them sweet and juicy and succulent. The eggplant gets simply sauteed in olive oil, a quick and relatively easy way to prepare eggplant. The arugula, which lends a fresh, peppery bite, gets no cooking at all, the heat of the pasta is enough to quickly wilt it. It's acts as both an herb and leafy green in this dish. Feta, besides perhaps mozzarella, is my go-to cheese in the summer (you might remember it from a few weeks ago in the Corn, Cucumber and Feta Salad). Its briny and salty yet maintains the flavor of a fresh, soft cheese, and I think it works brilliantly in warm dishes - I'd pair it with just about any summer vegetable. Which, I might add, won't be around for long.

Recipe below.


Summer's End Pasta
Serves 4-5


This pasta is a fairly straightforward combination of simply prepared produce. Feel free to change in or out any combination of fresh summer produce in this pasta.

-1 pound short pasta, like penne or rigatoni
-1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
-1 large eggplant, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
-2 cups baby arugula
-1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
-1/2 cup olive oil
-salt and pepper

1. Preheat the oven to 350.

2. Place the cherry tomatoes in a single layer on a large baking sheet. Drizzle with 1/2 cup of the olive oil, and season with salt and pepper. Toss lightly to coat in the oil. Place in the oven for 20 minutes, until soft and beginning to break apart. Remove and set aside.

3. In the meantime, heat a large saute pan on medium-high heat. Add the other 1/2 cup of olive oil, allow to heat, and add the eggplant. Season generously with salt and pepper and toss in the olive oil. Stirring frequently, allow to cook for 15-20 minutes until cooked through. The eggplant will initially soak up the olive oil, and then release it once it is cooked. If it gets too dry during cooking, drizzle with a little more olive oil.

4. Cook pasta according to package instructions, and drain.

5. In a large bowl, mix the pasta, cherry tomatoes, eggplant, arugula and feta. The cherry tomatoes, together with the olive oil, should form a loose sauce. Add more olive oil and salt and pepper to your liking. Serve at once.


19 comments:

  1. Definitely not ready to give up on summer yet. I need to make this soon!

    ReplyDelete
  2. All of the gucci replica watches are crafted to accommodated the exact blueprint of the aboriginal designs, we not alone ensure the replica watches attending like the louis vuitton replica originals but aswell the weight and ambit are abstinent to be as authentic as possible. Our aggregation of able watch makers and bolt designers adviser and audit anniversary artefact from accomplishment to replica chanel packaging to ensure that anniversary chump receives an assured product.Coupled with a safe guarantee,Watchcopiezis the adopted best for replica watches.Replica Chanel Watches is fashionable in style, adorable and durable. Walking forth the artery with replica Chanel Watches on your hand, searching at you replica Chanel Watch, again you are the appearance man or woman at the moment. At the swiss replica watches aforementioned time, your high-grade cachet anon appearance out.Impress your accompany with Replica Chanel J12 Mens Watch H0685 Watches .At our abundance you'll be able to acquisition top superior Fake Replica Chanel J12 Mens Watch H0685 Watches.Choose the best replica watches for yourself.By fendi outlet purchasing a replica watch, one is able to buy the finest watch designs of the apple at the everyman price with its ability in affluence replica watches, is cat-and-mouse to plan for you.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete