November 8, 2011

Cider Day at New Salem Preserves and Curried Butternut Squash Soup with Apple Cider



Cider Day is exactly what it sounds like. There is freshly pressed apple cider, apple cider donuts, apple cider cinnamon buns, apple cider syrup. There are fresh apples of every vintage and variety, which, if you'd like, you can make into caramel apples. There's butternut squash soup made with apple cider. They have talks on apple growing, cider making activities and walks through the orchard.

Cider Day is held every November at New Salem Preserves, an apple orchard and cider mill in Western Massachusetts.  I've been going to the orchard for as long as I can remember. In fact, I've spent almsot every Thanksgiving there with my family. The orchard, or "the farm" as it is often referred to in my family, is run my my mom's aunt and her partner, Carol and Robert.


I love coming to enjoy cider day. This year I met my family there and brought along my friend Mitch from Wesleyan. More than anything, Cider Day is a wonderful coming together of people at one of the most beautiful New England Settings you can imagine. Here are some of my photos from the day.

Carol's Butternut Squash Soup made with fresh apple cider (recipe below). It might just be the best soup I know. At Cider Day, it's served with local whole grain bread and soft butter. What an autumn, New England meal if there ever was one.





The old cider mill, where cider is still pressed every fall.


You can see the cider all bottled up on the right and being served on the left. But there's lots more than just cider. There's hand-made preserves, apple cider syrup, maple syrup, and apple cider donuts. The donuts are truly addictive - it's actually impossible to eat just half of one. Sugar-cinnamon coated with a crumbly yet chewy interior. They're just wonderful.

The old farm house, dated circa 1750, with the garden in the foreground. Yep, there's been a farm here longer than this country has been around. That's a long time. 


Inside the farm house flowers sit on the kitchen counter.

Recipe for soup below.

Curried Butternut Squash Soup with Apple Cider
Serves 4-6
From Carol at New England Preserves


The spice of the curry perfectly offsets the sweetness of the squash and cider. A truly simple and satisfying autumn soup.


-4 tablespoons butter
-2 large yellow onions, chopped
-2 medium butternut squash, peeled and seeds removed, cut into chunks
-2 McIntosh apples, peeled, cored and chopped
-3 cups vegetable or chicken broth
-1 cup apple cider
-4 teaspoons curry powder
-salt and pepper

1. Melt butter in a large pot. Add onions and curry and cook over low heat until tender.

2. Add squash, apples and broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer partially covered until squash and apples are tender, about 20-30 minutes.

3. Put contents of pot into a blender and slowly add cider until desired consistency is reached. Season with salt and pepper and serve.

17 comments:

  1. I love apple cider specially if the fruits are as fresh as the ones in this post. The apples look like they'll make perfect candy apples.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've tried your apple cider recipe at home and my kids loved it! It was so sweet but I'm a bit scared my kids would get toothaches because of eating too much of this. Good thing I have a great dentist in Myrtle Beach that could assist us in our dental needs anytime. Great recipe!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I didn't know that apple cider is bad for my teeth until I got my permanent dentures. The doctor advised me not to use apple cider vinegar anymore because it could damage my teeth when I take it regularly.

    ReplyDelete
  4. You're right Maylie, even a cosmetic dentist in Atlanta told me that. It seems like they have acid contents that damages the teeth.

    ReplyDelete
  5. If it already involves the inner layers like nerves and dentin, you'll cowl them with sugar-free gum. Gums will have sealants that facilitate cowl the exposed space however, the consequences they bring about can solely last for at the most forty eight hours, for more information click here boynton beach dental implants.

    ReplyDelete
  6. AN dentist exploitation dental devices like braces, Invisalign braces, halos, and retainers to assist straighten the teeth of their patients, for more information click here dentist vero beach.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I've tried your apple cider recipe at home and my kids loved it!

    ReplyDelete
  8. À manches courtes Chemise

    Je me rends compte qu'il pourrait être chaud dans le bureau, mais cela ressemble rarement bien sur un homme. Me fait penser à la science de lycée enseignant le moment je le vois. Je pourrais même demander où votre protecteur de poche est! Donc, ce sont les bases. Il ya d'autres styles de chemise là-bas qui peuvent paraître bien sur vous, mais ceux-ci sont à peu près sans danger pour quiconque. Mon conseil est d'éviter tout flashy ou à la mode - ils ont tendance à vous faire remarquer pour les mauvaises raisons. Et en passant, vous ne devez pas acheter la marque Polo - End, LL Bean, Hanes et bien d'autres sociétés font des chemises de qualité de la terre. Juste obtenir quelque chose en matière de qualité et vous serez amende.

    gilet paul shark pas cher

    ReplyDelete
  9. Your apple crisps look so sumptuous! It's perfect because my dad just harvested his apples on his farm. We're going to make some of this and our favorite
    Paul Shark Yachting Kleidung

    ReplyDelete
  10. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete