October 15, 2011

Fancy Pants Popcorn and a Whisky High Life



In the beginning, there was popcorn.

I would come home from a long day of elementary school, take one of those little popcorn envelope things out of the box, stick it in the microwave, and set the microwave to 3 minutes and 20 seconds. I would feel my spirits lift at the first few bangs of pop, pop, pop began, increasing every few seconds in speed until a veritable frenzy of popping sounds erupted from the microwave. The kitchen filled with the enticing scent of popcorn, its buttery aroma wafting through the air. Then, a slowing of pops, and finally, the long-awaited beeping of the microwave, signaling it was ready. (If you are feeling at this point that this description of popcorn is a little overly dramatic, rest assured, so am I). 

I would remove the popcorn from the microwave, open the bag and watch the steam pour out. Then, snack time! And so I snacked. And the world rested.  And it was good. 

Then, there was beer. 


I would come home from a long day at college (or not so long, whatever), grab a can of Miller High Life from the fridge and snap open its pop-cap. The crisp sizzle of carbonated beverage in the late afternoon. Tipping it back, I would feel the refreshing taste of cheap beer soothing my throat. And so I sipped. And the world rested. And it was good.


And then, there was the great flood. God directed Noah to collect one male and one female of each animal and bring it to his arc. A flood of flavor. And I was hungry. And I made fancy pants popcorn and a beer cocktail. And it was awesome. 

~~~

Today, I bring you an updated version of two classics, microwave popcorn and beer, that couldn't be easier, more dorm room friendly, or addictive. The popcorn gets updated with two simple ingredients - chipotle powder and lime zest - for a smoky, zesty, buttery rendition. The beer becomes a whole new animal - flavorful and complex - with whisky, lemon and ginger beer. It's really a terrific cocktail, and together with the popcorn it's perfect for your next movie night, pre-game, or afternoon snack. 

Recipes below. 

Fancy Pants Popcorn

-1 bag microwavable popcorn, popped
-1/2 teaspoon chipotle powder or chili powder, such as cayenne 
-1/2 teaspoon grated lime zest

1. Open the bag of popcorn and add the chipotle powder and lime zest. Close the bag and shake until the popcorn is coated. Eat. 


A Whisky High Life 

This recipe can easily be quadrupled for a pitcher, using a whole can of beer. 

-1/3 cup (about 1/4 can) Miller High Life, or other cheap beer
-1/4 cup ginger beer or ginger ale
-3 tablespoons/1.5 oz/1 shot whisky 
-1 tablespoon lemon juice
-1 tablespoon peeled fresh ginger, chopped into matchsticks (optional)
-ice, for serving

1. Mix all the ingredients in a tall glass. Serve over ice. 

14 comments:

  1. This popcorn product is one of my favorite popcorn because it's so delicious and crunchy. I want to buy commercial popcorn machines for sale so I could always make my own popcorn and I might end up having my own popcorn business as well.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow! This looks great! I am so impressed!


    ReplyDelete
  3. chack out this website for purchase pinot grigio wine online

    ReplyDelete
  4. Socks, T-shirts not to mention knickers dress things that pick up dirty gucci replica sale commonly are not complex to fix not to mention arid down toasty time of day. In reality, you can actually slip on an identical material temporarly while previously preferably should turn out to be rinsed. It cannot be overemphasized towards make spot on your suitcases for the purpose of putting in gift items. You will realise you will bring back with the help of chanel replica sale stuff as opposed to any time you departed. Its for these reasons some duffle pouch, and / or as an alternative, some rolling duffle pouch can be some terrific theory to sling a suitcases through. Rolling duffle purses be certain to are able to stow a large amount of stuff, whereas too you have available chanel replica sale for the purpose of further flexibleness. Stream-lined duffle purses and / or wonderful travel and leisure duffle purses will be highly recommended you should prefer duffle purses with the help of engine's wheels. Any time you find that you are currently sprinting because of location on holiday you too can head to a nearby put up louis vuitton replica sale towards transmit residential the personal things that you have got seen for which you simply cannot consider at hand. You would perhaps even transmit a mucky shirts or dresses towards one self, solely prior to heading residential. In such a manner you can actually consider the smaller stuff on your rolling duffle purses continuously. Aided by the expanding call for for the purpose of natural move purses, the general public are generally getting off man made louis vuitton replica sale solely have in a natural way coming about fabrics along the lines of organic.

    ReplyDelete
  5. As a woman, you adeptness ambition to accrue up with the latest trends so as to not accent outdated. If you acquire a adroit chanel replica adroitness of accomplishment afresh you adeptness be a juggler or a trend setter yourself. Otherwise you prada belts acquire to be acquainted of the trends in the market. Select a catch that you can haversack with a lot of of your accoutrement and not the affectionate that are seasonal. You will accretion a lot of online writing with acclimatized designs and you can never go awry with a simple battle antidotal catch that is louis vuitton replica trending the a lot of acclimatized now.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete