October 7, 2011

Apple Cake for Late Night Baking


If you haven't joined the party, it's called Late Night Baking, and you're already late. 

You see, if you're a college student - or any student, for that matter - you probably have a running list of activities to procrastinate from doing homework at night. These activities might include television, doing the laundry, taking an extra long shower, staring out the window contemplating life, staring at the cover of a book contemplating life, or starting at the insides of your eyelids not contemplating anything at all.

I propose to you a new idea which is currently revolutionizing the way college students go about procrastination. It's called Late Night Baking. And it's totally delicious. 

LNB typically starts around 9:30 or 10:00pm, when you realize that you finished dinner about 3 hours ago, that you didn't get enough to eat during dinner anyways, and that 3 hours is far too long to go without eating in the first place. You sit at your desk, contemplating whether or not its worth it to read the introduction to the book you have been assigned, and realize that in the amount of time you've thought about it, you could have just read the introduction. So instead, you decide to just not read the book at all. 

Soon, your thoughts turn elsewhere. Am I hungry? you ask yourself. No, I must not be hungry, I did just eat. So you open your computer, log on to Facebook, and begin browsing. But again, your thoughts turn elsewhere. 

Why would I ask myself if I'm hungry if I'm not actually hungry? 

At this point, you decide that the reason you couldn't concentrate on your reading is probably because you're still hungry, and that the only responsible solution is to eat something. But what? There's leftovers from dinner, but you just ate those and don't want any more. There's ice cream in the freezer, but that's kind of unhealthy to be snacking on ice cream late at night. There's an apple you could eat…

Who wants an apple? To hell with health! I've had a long day! I need some real food, and I want dessert! And while I'm at it, to hell with reading! Like I said, I've had a long day. I'm baking something! 

And that's when LNB starts to make so much sense. What you bake is up to you. There's a whole world of tasty treats ready to be mixed together and popped in the oven.  When, around midnight, the smell of the baking starts to fill your house or apartment with its wonderful, comforting aroma, you'll understand why LNB is the next big think. You'll see why it's what all the cool kids are doing. You'll want to join the party. And you'll know what to serve that ice cream in your freezer with. 

Your professor might not be happy, but your stomach will thank you. And let's be honest, we all know who wins that contest every time. 

Apple Cake for Late Night Baking 
slightly adapted from David Lebovitz and Dorie Greenspan 
makes one 9-inch cake 

This cake is my favorite apple dessert, even more than apple pie. The batter is light and fluffy and holds the juicy apple slices just right. Eat it late and night, and then again for breakfast the next morning. If you want, serve it with a nice scoop of vanilla ice cream. 

-3/4 cups flour
-3/4 teaspoon baking powder 
-pinch of salt
-4 large apples
-2 large eggs, at room temperature
-3/4 cups sugar
-3 tablespoons dark rum, optional
-1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
-8 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled to room temperature, plus more unmelted for the pan
-1/2 teaspoon grated nutmeg, optional 

1. Preheat oven to 350. 

2. Heavily butter a 9-inch springform pan and place on a baking sheet.

3. Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl.

4. Peel and core the apples and slice into thin slices. 

5. In a large bowl, beat the eggs until foamy and then mix in the sugar, rum (if using) and vanilla. Whisk in half of the flour mixture, then mix in the melted butter. Mix in the rest of the flour mixture, and then the rest of the butter, until a smooth batter forms. 

6. Gently fold in the apple slices until they are fully coated. Pour the mixture into the prepared cake pan. 

7. Smooth out the top of the mixture and dust with nutmeg, if using. 

8. Bake the cake for 50-60 minutes, until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Let the cake cool for a few minutes, then run a knife around the edge to loosen. Remove the cake from the pan and serve. 

9 comments:

  1. This post is hilarious. I think I might need to take up a new LNB hobby...

    ReplyDelete
  2. This is legit! LNB is my biggest problem when it comes to studying. When my roommate goes to sleep and I have to study in the common room... right next to the kitchen... with the fridge and all it's withheld treasures screaming to be brought together into something delicious. Then I start googling recipes and the rest is history. Goodbye homework, hellooooo apple crisp/white chocolate brownies/cake balls/chocolate bark/banana bread and all else.

    ReplyDelete
  3. With the help of fall season might be just around the corner. You need ripped one self beyond typically the college your life and also are aware of the fake louis vuitton outlet your life excitingly beckoning; and / or you could be solely waiting coming back to cannot secondary education not to mention getting started a good solid your life for ones following that time. In any event, back-to-school summer might be getting. Your abdominal taking an excellent pouch for ones getting time? Kinds of pouch often is the most suitable choice suitable for you? Secondary education gals fake louis vuitton sale have to deal with way more concerns as opposed to most people when considering selecting wonderful back-to-school pouch. Typically the pouch could be but not just troublesome an adequate amount of to have every one of your literature but more extremely cute an adequate amount of towards grab customers' big eyes. Also, typically the pouch could be for the reason that fake chanel bags as they can be. Because of the most typical rucksack in the virtually all modern move, what will you have chosen? Maybe a messenger pouch is exactly right for most people? Move Purses. Evidently move purses at the moment are the foremost incredibly hot purses in your secondary education campus. Surely that her move pouch is normally the more popular not to mention chic decision for ones getting higher education time. Gals love it considering that move purses seems to have completely different patterns not to mention styles so as to fake chanel bags, at the same time, for the reason that move purses turn up in no way who pedant, gals might possibly tackle completely different moments through and / or because of campus with the help of a particular extremely cute move. But, any time you pick a move pouch for the reason that a different pouch, you may might possibly basically consider numerous light source chanel replica handbags and / or smallish various gadgets in the basket due to its information that may be more or less not effective to have substantial literature.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete