September 3, 2011

Parmesan Panko Chicken Cutlets with Cashew Green Beans

As you may know, I was a picky eater growing up. I really ate a very, very limited variety of foods as a kid. It was pretty much cereal for breakfast, pasta for everything else. Occasionally, though, I was forced to go outside my comfort zone. One such occasion was when I went over to friends' houses for dinner. I knew that, unlike at home, I wasn't necessarily going to get my usual pasta for dinner.  Not wanting to go without dinner, I stepped outside my boundaries and tried something new. Much to my amazement, I often ended up liking whatever was being served.

I often remember going over to friends' houses and being served breaded chicken cutlets for dinner.
Perhaps it was because they are such a simple and satisfying weeknight meal, perhaps it was because of their semblance to chicken fingers or chicken nuggets ("Whoa!" I thought, "Their mom makes her own chicken fingers! That's awesome!"), but I was unusually open to trying them - as long as nothing "interesting" was served on top ("Excuse, what is that green thing on top? Ok, well, I can wait to eat until dessert. What, no dessert?").



And so breaded chicken cutlets went on my ok-foods-to-eat list. And I still love them. If prepared correctly they are crunchy on the outside, juicy and succulent on the inside.  As a kid, I remember these being served with tomato sauce. There's nothing wrong with a little tomato sauce on the side, but I've prepared these to have plenty of flavor in the breadcrumb coating, with chili flakes, lemon zest and parmesan cheese mixed in. And I use Japanese panko breadcrumbs - perfect for pan-frying - for an extra crunch. Once they're fried up, a squeeze of lemon is all they need.

I also remember green beans being the perennial side dish for weeknight meals. Green beans took me a little longer to warm up to than chicken cutlets as a kid. Years longer, in fact. When, well into the second decade of my life, I started to eat these slender greens, they were often just steamed with a little butter on top - which I love. But for this rendition of one of summer's most humble vegetables, I've added toasted cashews, sesame seeds, olive oil and lemon juice.

This recipe is all about taking a classic meal and serving it up with a batch of new flavors. It might not be the chicken cutlets and green beans of your childhood, but hopefully, you're not the picky eater of your childhood, either.

Recipe below.



Parmesan Panko Chicken Cutlets
Serves 2-4

-4 boneless, skinless chicken cutlets
-1 cup white flour
-4 eggs
-1 cup panko breadcrumbs
-2 tablespoons freshly grated parmigiano cheese
-1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
-1 teaspoon chili flakes
-salt and pepper
-vegetable or canola oil for pan frying
-1 lemon, cut into 4 wedges

1. Set out three pie pans or shallow bowls. In one bowl, place the flour. In the second bowl, beat the eggs well. In the third bowl, mix the panko breadcrumbs, parmigiano cheese, lemon zest, chili flakes and a dash of salt and pepper.

2. Working with one chicken cutlet at a time, first dip both sides into the flour, coating well and shaking off excess flour. Then dip the cutlet in the egg mixture, coating well. Finally dip both sides into the panko mixture, being sure to coat the chicken in an even layer of breadcrumbs. Place on a plate until ready to fry.

3. Heat a sauté pan large enough to hold all 4 chicken cutlets on medium heat. Add a layer of vegetable oil and allow to warm. Place the chicken cutlets in the oil and allow to fry for 3-4 minutes on each side, until cooked through and golden-brown on the outside. Remove to a plate covered with a paper towel and allow to sit for a minute. Serve with lemon wedges.

Cashew Green Beans
Serves 2-4

-2 cups green beans, stems removed
-1/4 cup crushed cashews
-1 tablespoon sesame seeds
-4 tablespoons olive oil
-juice of half of lemon
-salt and pepper

1. Place a small amount of water in a covered medium pot. If you have a steam basket, place it in the pot. If not, don't worry about it. Allow the water to come to a boil. Add the green beans and cover. Cook for 4-8 minutes, depending on thickness of green beans, until cooked through but still a bit crunchy.

2. In the meantime, heat a small skillet on medium heat. Add the cashews and sesame seeds to the dry pan and toast, tossing frequently, until lightly browned. Remove from the pan.

3. Transfer green beans to a serving platter and dress with olive oil and lemon juice, and season with salt and pepper. Toss well. Top with cashews and sesame seeds and serve at once.

13 comments:

  1. This looks amazing, Will! Can't wait to try it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Philippine pili nuts from the Bicol region in the Philippines is a great Filipino or Philippines food orsnack. Pili nuts are very healthy and nutritious indeed, being a source of energy, potassium and iron.They also have protein, dietary fiber / fibre, and calcium as well as monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fats.  I know they have no cholesterol, no trans fat, and the unsalted ones have no sodium. What is great about the pili nut snack or treat is that they are so crisp, rich, and delicious.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Almost all of the designer watches many of us discover right now are generally via Swiss since these kind of designer watches are generally the most effective inside chanel outlet. Developer rolex replica uk features extraordinary capabilities which could merely remain visible throughout inventive along with unusual designer watches which have been pertaining to high-class along with splendor. Wealthiness can be certainly not forgotten about which is the reason you may use these kind of inventive along with unusual hublot replica uk that were duplicated by simply developer inventive along with unusual enjoy firm pertaining to the advantages of the human race. High-class along with wealthiness is just not have missed inside design and style of such inventive along with unusual designer watches specially your duplicate designer watches which have been reasonably priced and intensely lovely. Anywhere else, many of us assessment omega replica uk quite fashionable brand-new Colonial Chronograph Basic, Schofield's superb Signalman DLC along with Chanel's quite glistening J12 Chromatic. And finally, many of us look at hublot replica stealthy Industrial engineer Hydrocarbon Dark-colored along with Harry Winston's brand-new designer watches just for this calendar year.

    ReplyDelete
  4. The blog or and best that is extremely useful to keep I can share the ideas
    of the future as this is really what I was looking for, I am very comfortable and pleased to come here. Thank you very much.
    strike force heroes| slitherio | earn to die 6
    earn to die 5| good game empire |tank trouble 2

    ReplyDelete
  5. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete