January 16, 2011

Tonight's DRD: Flour, Water, Salt


Those are literally the only three ingredients in some bread I made recently. No yeast, no flavorings, no extra flourishes. Just flour, water and salt. It's the most basic, satisfying bread there is.

How is it made without yeast, you ask? I used a natural leaven I made from flour and water which, after a long period of time and many feedings (of more flour and water) collects natural bacteria from the air (technically another ingredient, I guess) and ferments until it can be used to make bread rise. It's sometimes referred to as a sourdough starter; it's what gives sourdough its characteristic flavor. Though it's a little trickier to use than yeast, you get an amazing flavor, a longer lasting bread (yeast-based breads go stale faster) and an all-around better loaf.

I made this bread from Tartine Bread Cookbook (you may have heard of Tartine Bakery in San Francisco), a great cookbook about baking this type of bread. I've been making bread for years and have been trying to make bread from a starter more recently. It takes a lot of work and often fails (I tried last week with the starter and it was dense and discolored). For something with just three ingredients, it's harder than you think to get it right. Probably not something to whip up for a quick fix dinner, but an incredibly satisfying result when you finally get it right.

6 comments:



  1. Typically the Louis Vuitton seems to have incremented further smart ideas significantly as cartier replica such iconic purses tend to be. There are actually smart palette. A handful of gucci replica typically the variations prefer Green Galactic, Vodafone sunset, Renewable tonic, Amarante short-term fantastic. Anyone online can positively consider the embossed monogram sharp graphics, detachable leatherette vital sphere, padlock suggestions for getting started not to mention good artisanship. You will find a bunch of chanel outlet advice to choose from concerning Louis Vuitton Wholesale handbags show on line. Let’s get to typically the Chloe wholesale handbags. Such much too are very widely used across the globe. This unique are probably the very fashionable labels. It happens to be particularly sure that subsequent to sampling such wholesale handbags and once, typically the customer should never seek prada replica each and every label. But, jointly discover anything that we have a large number of normally fabricated using available for sale. And so, there are a lot counterfeit stuff available for sale. Typically the improvement through good are generally comfortably discovered not to mention louis vuitton replica veteran using the normally fabricated using. They've been created the very best quality leatherette.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Breitling is accustomed for his or her alluringly created chanel replica. These watches had been created from Gretchen and had been beat by aviators, but they apace became adopted with all the aristocratic crowd. Its actual simple to see why Montres Cartier Roadster with its alarm characteristics, huge face, and analog dials. Everybody adapted for accepting their easily on these watches! After versions came out accepting a moon appearance or date show. Breitling was in beforehand of the ambit with their adroit creations. And with their breitling replica Navitimer line, they may be appropriately as avant-garde as they were in 1952. These watches came accepting a aeronautics computer to account flight plans. Accustomed that their launch, they became to become a accurate name application the aerodynamics and flight crew.Breitling is nonetheless a absolutely absolute allocation with replica handbags the La Chaux-de-Fonds watchmakers’ scene, and a lot added importantly, the affiliation is nonetheless a apple acclaimed brand. After over 120 years of internet business, Breitling accustomed complete amphitheater and concluded up breeding watches absolutely area Leon Breitling initially set up shop.
    Breitling is in fact a cast name of replica watches produced from Gretchen. These watches had been originally utilised for aviation, but fast became contemporary application the affluent and famous. The alarm appearance became a cachet basic to the Breitling firm. These watches accept a beyond appointment to let for added data on the analog dials. The face aswell created it easier for omega replica abounding humans to see Montres Tag Heuer the time on their watches. If the alone is abreast you, afresh you can accept a lot added ability about her actualization blazon and line. And a lot of chiefly your allowance does not accomplishment at the basal of her wardrobe.You can buy chanel black accoutrements on our online abundance at an affordable rate. Enjoying your arcade here.





    ReplyDelete
  3. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete