October 26, 2011

Pot-Roasted Cauliflower with Harissa


I was hesitant to do a post on cauliflower. Cauliflower often gets a bad rap. It's referred to as the bastard cousin of broccoli. People say it's dense, stalky and flavorless. And I'll admit it, cauliflower is not the sexiest of vegetables.

But I've long been a fan of cauliflower, ever since my mom made it when we were kids by parboiling it, then sautéing it in butter and topping it with lemon and breadcrumbs. It was one of those vegetable dishes that, as a kid, I was reluctant to admit I totally loved. Kids aren't supposed to love cauliflower - and God knows I was a picky eater - but I loved my mom's cauliflower.


But I assumed that I was, for the most part, alone in my appreciation of the vegetable. Sure, you'd see it here and there - in aloo gobi at and Indian restaurant, boiled and flavorless at a dinner party - but who ever really craved cauliflower? Who ever makes a effort to make cauliflower a regular part of their lives?

Well, to my surprise, a certain five year old from Oklahoma does. This morning, as I was contemplating whether it was even worth posting about cauliflower, I serendipitously received a package from Patty Simon, a long time family friend.  She had sent me a book along with a drawing from her niece depicting her favorite foods. First on the list? Cauliflower. Clearly, it was a sign.


I do have to admit that this girl seems to have a pretty advanced palate for someone here age - in fact she has a more advanced palate than many people my age. In addition to cauliflower, her favorite foods include tater-tots, fresh cherries, octopus and soup with tofu. Evidently, I need to sit down with this girl and have a meal. That said, at five years old, I would have been hesitant to even get near a steaming bowl of tofu soup, much less octopus (which she lovingly draws as sushi on a bed of rice wrapped in nori!). I think were I to make the same list as a five year old, it would include cinnamon toast crunch, frosted flakes, string cheese, noodles with butter, and milkshakes.

Sandwiches at the Wesleyan Farmers Market
Nonetheless, our five year old from Oklahoma gave me the inspiration to post on cauliflower. This recipe came about when Damiano and I were planning last week's sandwich for the Wesleyan Farmers Market (we sell locally-sourced sandwiches at each market). We wanted to do a cauliflower sandwich, but knew that the cauliflower had to be something special if people were going to like this sandwich. Damiano had seen a recipe from Rene Redzepi (of the much-hyped restaurant Noma in Denmark) for whole roasted cauliflower in The Guardian.

We made it (well, we've made it about three times now), and boy, it's good. This is the most flavorful cauliflower you've ever tasted, deeply caramelized on the bottom and heavily infused with the flavors from the pot. It works wonderfully as a side dish, or you can even make it the centerpiece of a light meal, served with some yogurt dip and bread. We used ours in a sandwich with roasted leek mayo and pickled carrots on baguette. However you serve it, this recipe couldn't possibly be simpler. You don't even have to cut up the cauliflower. If you know anything about Noma, you wont be surprised to learn that Redzepi's version uses juniper branches and yogurt whey. Damiano simplified and adapted his version so that you just melt some butter in a pot, add some garlic, thyme and harissa (a Tunisian pepper blend increasingly available in the US), and throw in the head of cauliflower. Then, to quote Redzepi from the article, "it's 35 minutes of don't fucking worry about it." Easy enough? I think so.


Pot-Roasted Cauliflower with Harissa
Adapted from Rene Redzepi in The Guardian  
Serves 4-5 as a side dish

-1 head of cauliflower
-3 tablespoons butter
-3 sprigs thyme
-1 teaspoon harissa, or other dried pepper blend
-2 cloves garlic, peeled
-salt and pepper

1. To prepare the cauliflower, use a chef's knife to cut off the bottom stem and any surrounding leaves, leaving the entire white head intact. Using the back of a knife, gently crush the garlic against a cutting board.

2. In a pot large enough to hold the head of cauliflower, melt the butter on medium-high heat. Add the sprigs of thyme, harissa, and garlic. Allow to cook for a minute until aromatic and the butter is lightly browned.

3. Add the head of cauliflower to the pot, stem side down. Season with salt and pepper. Cover with a tight-fitting lid and allow to steam in the butter for 10 minutes on medium-high heat, then turn the heat down to low and allow to cook for another 30 minutes or so, until the cauliflower is easily pierced with a knife. Remove the cauliflower and place on a plate for serving, drizzling the butter mixture on top. Slice however you want and serve at once.

14 comments:

  1. I agree that cauliflower can be a difficult vegetable to find good recipes for. And now that I think about it, I don't think I've ever eaten or seen it being served in a restaurant, but I personally like it. If you treat it like broccoli, of course it is going to be boring. You cant just steam it and have it done.

    I like this recipe that you shared. And actually your favorite, the way your mom made it, is also one of my favorite ways to eat cauliflower too. I'd say cauliflower goes best with butter and garlic.

    P.S. About your sandwich - Did you just use this cauliflower recipe and then some grated carrots?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yardbird in Hong Kong do a wonderful cauliflower dish called KFC (Korean Fried Cauliflower). Yum!

    ReplyDelete
  3. The article you have shared here very awesome. I really like and appreciated your work. I read deeply your article, the points you have mentioned in this article are useful. I must try to follow these points and also share others.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Suppose i told you I just also told most people typically the genuine remedy for according to eyeball darkness sectors not to mention prada replica? Any eliminate a puffy big eyes not to mention according to eyeball sectors who basically makes you take a look 10 years younger not to mention health boosting? There are a lot skincare organisations of which provide easy heals for a puffy big eyes not to mention darkness lunchmoney. And yet, quite a few of his or her's skincare services hold risky man made synthetics. You no longer plan to usage perilous synthetics within your face (certainly near a big eyes) prefer: acrylamide as upon processed disheartening in the big eyes not to mention face, alcohols as they quite simply fry in addition to gucci replica bags the facial skin, not to mention mineral petrolum oils could be warded off since many clog up surface and prevent the facial skin because of clearing away harmful toxins and bacteria. As an alternative for any chemical founded services, analyze skincare of which possesses strong, genuine products used in an eye fixed jellified who cuts down on typically the hermes replica hat according to a big eyes not to mention darkness sectors. Find out the hidden knowledge for a safer, reliable genuine remedy for according to eyeball darkness sectors used in genuine products. Certainly no risky synthetics, solely strong not to mention safer fake prada would always take away a according to eyeball sectors.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete